Harvard | Ms. Athlete Entrepreneur
GMAT 750, GPA 3.34
Tuck | Mr. Over-Experienced
GRE 330, GPA 3.0
Stanford GSB | Mr. Equal Opportunity
GMAT 760, GPA 4.0
HEC Paris | Mr. Indian Entrepreneur
GMAT 690, GPA 2.1
Stanford GSB | Mr. Unrealistic Ambitions
GMAT 710, GPA 2.0
Chicago Booth | Mr. Community Uplift
GMAT 780, GPA 2.6
UCLA Anderson | Mr. Worldwide
GMAT 730, GPA 3.1
Stanford GSB | Mr. Classic Candidate
GMAT 760, GPA 3.9
Darden | Mr. Education Consulting
GRE 326, GPA 3.58
Wharton | Mr. LatAm Indian Trader
GMAT 720, GPA 3.5
Wharton | Mr. MBB to PE
GMAT 740, GPA 3.98
Darden | Mr. Stock Up
GMAT 700, GPA 3.3
Harvard | Mr. MBB Aspirant
GMAT 780, GPA 3.7
Harvard | Mr. Soldier Boy
GMAT 720, GPA 3.72
Harvard | Ms. Finance
GMAT 760, GPA 3.48
Cornell Johnson | Mr. Angel Investor
GMAT 700, GPA 3.20
Rice Jones | Mr. ToastMasters Treasurer
GMAT 730, GPA 3.7
Kellogg | Mr. MBB Private Equity
GMAT TBD (target 720+), GPA 4.0
Said Business School | Ms. Creative Planner
GMAT 690, GPA 3.81 / 5.0
Stanford GSB | Mr. Wedding Music Business
GMAT 710, GPA 3.7
Harvard | Mr. Big 4 Auditor
GMAT 740, GPA 3.55
Harvard | Mr. Software PE
GMAT 760, GPA 3.45
Harvard | Mr. First Gen Consultant
GMAT 710, GPA 4.0 (First Class Honours)
Stanford GSB | Mr. MBB/FinTech
GMAT 760, GPA 3.7
Stanford GSB | Mr. Break Into Buy-Side
GMAT 780, GPA 3.6
Harvard | Mr. Perseverance
GMAT 730, GPA 3.7
Stanford GSB | Mr. Politics Abroad
GRE 332, GPA 4.2/4.3

Kelley Names Search Panel To Find New Dean

A search and screen committee has been formed to identify finalists for the position of dean of the Indiana University Kelley School of Business, Provost and Executive Vice President Lauren Robel announced today (Sept. 26).

The committee will conduct a nationwide search for a successor to Dan Smith, who will become president of the IU Foundation on Oct. 1 after serving as dean of the school since 2005. The school said the search panel will begin meeting this fall with a goal of selecting finalists by spring. Robel will appoint the dean, whose tenure would likely begin with the 2013-14 academic year.

Earlier this month, Robel appointed Idalene “Idie” Kesner as interim dean of the Kelley School; she has been associate dean of faculty and research and the Frank P. Popoff Chair of Strategic Management.

Matthew Auer, dean of the Hutton Honors College and a professor in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs, will chair the search committee, which also includes representatives of faculty who teach at Bloomington and Indianapolis, professional staff, students and alumni of the Kelley School.

“I’m delighted that Dean Auer has agreed to chair this search and that such an accomplished and committed group of faculty, staff, students and alumni have agreed to serve on the committee,” Robel said in a statement. “I am confident that they will secure strong leadership to continue the Kelley School’s rich history of excellence and extend its global reach.”

Members of the search committee are:


  • Matthew Auer, dean of the Hutton Honors College and a professor in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs

Faculty, Kelley Bloomington

  • Laureen Maines, chair of accounting and the KPMG Professor of Accounting
  • Ray Burke, chair and professor of marketing and the E.W. Kelley Chair of Business Administration
  • Jeffrey Covin, chair of management and entrepreneurship, professor of strategic management and the Samuel and Pauline Glaubinger Professor of Entrepreneurship
  • Sreenivas Kamma, chair and associate professor of finance
  • Martin McCrory, chair of the Undergraduate Honors Program, associate professor of business law and ArcelorMittal USA Undergraduate Faculty Fellow
  • Rebecca Slotegraaf, associate professor of marketing and Whirlpool Faculty Fellow
  • Sue Vargo, co-director of Communication, Professional and Computer Skills

Faculty, Kelley Indianapolis

  • Julie Manning Magid, associate professor of business law
  • Ken Carow, associate dean for Indianapolis research and programs and associate professor of finance.


  • Augustin Ruta, an undergraduate at IU Bloomington majoring in finance and accounting, and chief of staff of the IU Student Association

Professional staff

  • Pam Roberts, executive director of the Full-Time MBA Program and Graduate Career Services
  • Grant Simpson, president of the IU Bloomington Professional Council


  • Nancy Swanson, vice president-corporate of Procter & Gamble, Cincinnati, Ohio


About The Author

John A. Byrne is the founder and editor-in-chief of C-Change Media, publishers of Poets&Quants and four other higher education websites. He has authored or co-authored more than ten books, including two New York Times bestsellers. John is the former executive editor of Businessweek, editor-in-chief of Businessweek. com, editor-in-chief of Fast Company, and the creator of the first regularly published rankings of business schools. As the co-founder of CentreCourt MBA Festivals, he hopes to meet you at the next MBA event in-person or online.