McCombs School of Business | Ms. Registered Nurse Entrepreneur
GMAT 630, GPA 3.59
Kellogg | Mr. Hopeful Engineer
GMAT 720, GPA 7.95/10 (College follows relative grading; Avg. estimate around 7-7.3)
Wharton | Mr. Rates Trader
GMAT 750, GPA 7.6/10
Stanford GSB | Mr. Former SEC Athlete
GMAT 620, GPA 3.8
Tuck | Mr. Army To MBB
GMAT 740, GPA 2.97
Columbia | Mr. Forbes 30 Under 30
GMAT 730, GPA 3.4
Stanford GSB | Mr. MBB Advanced Analytics
GMAT 750, GPA 3.1
Stanford GSB | Mr. Impactful Consultant
GMAT 730, GPA 3.7
Chicago Booth | Mr. Banker To CPG Leader
GMAT 760, GPA 7.36/10
Ross | Mr. Leading-Edge Family Business
GMAT 740, GPA 2.89
Darden | Mr. Logistics Guy
GRE Not taken Yet, GPA 3.1
Chicago Booth | Mr. Desi Boy
GMAT 740, GPA 3.0
Kellogg | Mr. Stylist & Actor
GMAT 760 , GPA 9.5
Columbia | Mr. Ambitious Chemical Salesman
GMAT 720, GPA 3.3
Tepper | Ms. Coding Tech Leader
GMAT 680, GPA 2.9
Harvard | Mr. Irish Biotech Entrepreneur
GMAT 730, GPA 3.2
Stanford GSB | Mr. Cricketer Turned Engineer
GMAT 770, GPA 7.15/10
Wharton | Mr. Planes And Laws
GRE 328, GPA 3.8
McCombs School of Business | Mr. Refrad
GMAT 700, GPA 3.94
Harvard | Mr. Supply Chain Photographer
GMAT 700, GPA 3.3
Chicago Booth | Mr. Space Launch
GMAT 710, GPA 3.0
Kellogg | Ms. Product Strategist
GMAT 700, GPA 7.3/10
Columbia | Mr. MBB Consultant
GRE 339, GPA 8.28
Berkeley Haas | Mr. Avocado Farmer
GMAT 750, GPA 3.08
Georgetown McDonough | Mr. International Development Consultant
GMAT N/A, GPA 2.9
Columbia | Mr. Wannabe Grad
GMAT 710, GPA 3.56
Kellogg | Ms. Indian Entrepreneur
GMAT 750, GPA 3.3

Candidate:

Mr. Rates Trader

About Me:

I’m a 24-year-old trader working at a top European investment bank based out of India and have been with the bank for roughly 3 years now. During this time I have had a chance to work for 7 months in London (International exposure) and was offered a full-time position there as well (which I had to decline at that point in time due to personal reasons).

Details:

Undergrad School: One of old 7 IITs

Undergrad Major: Electrical and Electronics Engineering

GPA: 7.6/10

GMAT: 750

Age: 24,  Ethnicity: Asian or Indian

Extracurriculars: Worked with Government of India on quite a few projects targeting socio-economic development in rural part of India.

Work History:

Title: Associate

Industry: Banking & Finance

Company: Fortune 500

Length of Employment: 2 yrs, 9 mos

Big Life Wins:

– Promoted to Associate within one year of joining the bank (Norm is generally 2-3 years).
– During college, I have worked closely with the Government of India and have achieved results as well. For example, getting a proposal of the project worth INR 3.5 crore approved and working on the front line of it. The project benefitted at least 5 villages firsthand.

Post MBA Goal:

Post MBA I would like to pivot gradually towards building a long-term career in investing. So given my past experience and keeping realistic expectations, IB straight out of MBA, and then moving on to a buy-side investing role in few years.

Schools:

Target School: Wharton

Status: Open

Considering: Harvard, Columbia

Odds:

The Experts Rate The Odds At: 25%

  • Stratus Admissions Counseling | Odds Assessment: 25%

    Hi Mr Rates Trader, Melisa here from Stratus Admissions. Sounds like you’ve had some really interesting experiences working in London and helping the Indian Government. Starting with your stats – you look solid here – above the GMAT averages on all of your schools and a strong GPA (first class with distinction, correct?). I can logically see how a path to IB can make sense for you – and with your financed background, you will be a great candidate. What I’d love to hear more about is why investing for you. What is personally driving your interests and what opportunities do you see that you’d like to impact /improve? The hard part about being a finance guy staying in finance is that it’s a common …

    2 weeks ago Read the full review

    Request A FREE Consultation


The Community Currently Rates The Odds At: 10%

  • 5% | 10 hours ago

  • 25% | 2 weeks ago

Rate The Odds of Acceptance