Mr. Steelmaker To Consultant

About Me:

I am working as Senior Manager(Operations) in a government-owned leading steel manufacturer in India for last 12+ years.Have experience in both primary and secondary refining of steel and as well as with the transformation of liquid steel into solid blooms.Currently handling a team of over 150 people and overseeing the production and planning processes, in addition to quality and safety aspects. Prior to this,I worked as a software engineer and an instructor-mentor for MBA aspirants.


See More Profiles For: Duke Fuqua

Application Status: Open


Undergrad School: BIT SINDRI

Undergrad Major: Metallurgical Engineering

GPA: 3.04/4.0

GMAT: 760

Age: 36,  Ethnicity: Asian or Indian

Extracurriculars: Volunteer at a school for autistic kids,, astronomy and physics enthusiast,, and a volunteer for an orphanage.

Work History:

Title: Steelmaker

Industry: Manufacturing

Company: Steel Manufacturing Unit

Length of Employment: 10 yrs, 11 mos

Title: Steelmaker

Industry: Manufacturing

Company: Other

Length of Employment: 1 yr, 6 mos

Big Life Wins:

-Have acquired experience of various stages and facets of Steelmaking on both fronts, managerial and operational, in a very short period of 12 years, and have applied that knowledge to bring about quite a few changes of my own on both fronts, which have resulted in substantial savings and efficient manpower management for the organisation.
-Successfully transitioned from Software to Steelmaking during a tough phase of my life,both emotionally and professionally.
-Faced biggest challenge of my life,my daughter’s autism head on despite it affecting her and us as a family adversely.Working with her towards her speech issues and other social aspects of her condition has made me even more determined and strong when it comes to my goals and has instilled a sense of extreme compassion in me, which in my opinion has made me a better human being ,more understanding of others’ situation, helping me see both sides of any argument without any prejudice.
-United my family post mother’s brain haemorrhage and resulting coma, paralysis and subsequent death.
-Overcame long lasting depression and used my energy for the better things in life,and maintain positive attitude even in the face of utter despair. I wished to pursue full time MBA all my engineering and prepared for it during 2007-09 but could not get into my dream schools.Post that I worked in steel sector for 12 years.Again wanted to apply 5-6 years earlier but could not move ahead due to daughter’s condition.Now she’s improving significantly so I can go for full time MBA as I believe my experience coupled with the right degree will result into proper utilisation of my capabilities and would enable me to develop managerial insights into corporate side of companies even more, now that I have a substantial knowledge of the operations side.

Post MBA Goal:

Professional Goal-To work at MBB and develop insights into functioning and intricacies of both developed and emerging markets.To apply my own insights embedded with those of industry leaders to bring innovative changes.
Life Goal-To establish a 1-stop center for autism in India and to make it accessible to underprivileged sections of society.To expand this idea to smaller cities.To enable the kids more than just a formal basic education by means of providing with professional skills and proper environment and provide them with real life job options.


Join in! Click here to assess the odds of Mr. Steelmaker To Consultant

The Community Currently Rates The Odds At: 47%

  • 75% | 2 years ago

  • 25% | 2 years ago

  • 100% | 2 years ago

  • 50% | 2 years ago

  • 5% | 2 years ago

  • 10% | 2 years ago

  • 65% | 2 years ago

Rate The Odds of Acceptance

Submit My MBA Profile