4 In Jewish Students Association Receive HBS Dean’s Award

From Cambridge, Massachusetts: The leadership teams of the Jewish Students Association (JSA: Amit Botzer, Aliza Ohnouna, Rebecca Sichel, and Daniel Silberwasser) and Middle East and North Africa Club (MENA: Loujaine AlMoallim, Line Hachem, and Abdullah Mahomed), along with Teresa Danso-Danquah, all members of the Harvard Business School MBA Class of 2024, as well as Martin Aragoneses, a graduating doctoral student in the field of business economics, have been named recipients of the School’s Dean’s Award.

These coveted and prestigious awards celebrate the extraordinary achievements of graduating students who during their years of study have also made a positive impact on Harvard, Harvard Business School, and/or broader communities through exceptional acts of leadership. Nominations come from the HBS community, and Dean Srikant Datar makes the final selections.

“This year’s Dean’s Award winners—truly remarkable students, all—exemplify the School’s mission of making a difference in the world,” Datar says. “At a time of difficulty and divisiveness, globally and here at Harvard, these students displayed extraordinary leadership and resourcefulness to have a meaningful impact on our community. Their focus on making the School more informed and inclusive spurred important dialogue and deepened learning across our campus. They worked individually and together to engage, comfort, unify, and educate their communities and fellow students throughout the year. I am deeply grateful for their partnership.”

Read more

With major gift, Babson College to launch C. Dean Metropoulos Institute for Entrepreneurship and Technology

From Babson Park, Massachusetts: Babson College has announced that C. Dean Metropoulos ’67, MBA’68 has made a transformational gift to launch the C. Dean Metropoulos Institute for Entrepreneurship and Technology. This marks a significant step forward in Babson’s strategic initiatives to advance and elevate the pivotal role of technology in entrepreneurial education. The gift reflects Metropoulos’ long-standing commitment to Babson and underscores the college’s commitment to innovation in the technology sector.

The C. Dean Metropoulos Institute for Entrepreneurship and Technology will bolster Babson’s leading entrepreneurial education into the leadership ranks of technology and AI, supporting and expanding curricular and co-curricular programs that amplify the importance of technological innovation in the entrepreneurial process. Thought leadership initiatives will explore the critical need for guardrails when navigating the benefits and risks of emerging technologies and AI and their adoption in industry, medicine, and the environment. This focus will serve as the cornerstone of the Metropoulos Institute’s contribution through its emerging leaders.

“I am very proud to be part of Babson’s exciting new initiatives in this incredible frontier of technology and AI,” Metropoulos says. “The past century has ushered in unprecedented scientific discoveries and innovation impacting humanity and our planet. It is very clear that these technologies are accelerating at a speed never before experienced. This tide clearly offers many opportunities that provide positive solutions to humanity in every aspect of life, from education, business, medicine, environment, and just day-to-day living.”

Read more

Janet Yellen at the Frankfurt School of Finance & Management

Janet Yellen receives honorary doctorate from Frankfurt School of Finance & Management

From Frankfurt am Main, Germany: Frankfurt School of Finance & Management has conferred an honorary doctorate to U.S. Treasury Secretary Dr Janet Yellen during an academic ceremony today.

In a keynote address, Secretary Janet Yellen outlined her perspectives on current global financial policy challenges. “I am grateful to Frankfurt School for awarding me this honorary doctorate and for organizing today’s program,” she said. “I would also like to thank Professor Stieglitz, President Lagarde, and Minister Lindner for their exceptionally kind words. And thanks to all of you in the audience today — students, faculty, and many others.”

In his laudatory speech, Professor Nils Stieglitz, Frankfurt School President and CEO, celebrated Janet Yellen’s contributions to science and practice: “Janet Yellen, in her dedication to impactful scientific theories which help solve practical problems, is exemplary for us at Frankfurt School. I am especially proud to award this honorary doctorate and welcome her to our community.”

Read more


Questions about this article? Email us or leave a comment below.